WE CONNECT – 3 Foundations

Science and practice for the European Capital Markets Union and Germany as a financial centre

Europe's economy, and above all Germany's, is highly dependent on bank financing. In this respect, bank regulation in response to the financial market crisis that erupted in 2007 and all further attempts to strengthen capital market financing are of particular importance for the real economy. In addition, the EU has been taking targeted steps since 2015 to create a functioning single capital market (Capital Markets Union). Many of the effects and interactions associated with the new regulations are still unfolding and have not yet been recognised or even researched.
Academics and practitioners discuss the related issues in great detail on a subject-specific basis, but primarily in different silos of expertise that are independent of each other. Forums in which academics from different disciplines can engage in an exchange with practitioners from business, regulatory agencies and politics are also the exception.

With the Capital Markets Union Foundation Project, we are creating a common framework that brings together academia, financial market players, real economy stakeholders, policymakers and regulators in order to plot the course for the further development of business financing, capital markets and capital market law in Germany and Europe.

Structure of the Capital Markets Union Foundation Project

WIR VERBINDEN – 3 Stiftungen

Wissenschaft und Praxis für die europäische Kapitalmarktunion und den Finanzstandort Deutschland

Europas, vor allem aber auch Deutschlands Wirtschaft, ist in hohem Maße von der Bankenfinanzierung abhängig. Insofern kommt der Bankenregulierung als Reaktion auf die 2007 ausgebrochene Finanzmarktkrise und allen weiteren Versuchen, die Kapitalmarktfinanzierung zu stärken, eine besondere Bedeutung für die Realwirtschaft zu. Zudem unternimmt die EU seit 2015 gezielte Schritte, um einen funktionierenden Kapitalbinnenmarkt (Kapitalmarktunion) zu schaffen. Viele der mit den neuen Regulierungen verbundenen Auswirkungen und Wechselwirkungen sind noch dabei sich zu entfalten, wurden noch nicht erkannt oder gar erforscht. 
Wissenschaft und Praxis diskutieren die damit verbundenen Themen zwar fachspezifisch sehr detailliert, jedoch vorrangig in verschiedenen, voneinander unabhängigen Fachsilos. Auch Foren, in denen Wissenschaftler verschiedener Disziplinen mit Praktikern aus Unternehmen, Regulierung und Politik einen gemeinsamen Austausch pflegen können, sind die Ausnahme. 

Mit dem Stiftungsprojekt Kapitalmarktunion schaffen wir einen gemeinsamen Rahmen, der Wissenschaft, Finanzmarktakteure, Realwirtschaft, Politik und Aufsicht zusammenbringt, um Akzente für die Weiterentwicklung der Wirtschaftsfinanzierung, der Kapitalmärkte und des Kapitalmarktrechts in Deutschland und Europa zu setzen. 

Struktur des Stiftungsprojekts Kapitalmarktunion

Fördermaßnahmen und Projekte